RSS Feed

Summoned to a reckoning

I was lucky enough to be able to spend some time with my father before his passing. My clairvoyant sister had advised me to fly over as she had sensed his end was nearer than I thought. In these short moments together I asked him how he felt as his illness was gradually robbing him of his life.  I was very sad to see him, this formidable man, so diminished. He smiled and stated simply that as he had spent every day of his life in constant movement, sleeping very little, and while awake always working and active, now,  God was giving him the gift of peacefulness, of tranquility, providing him with  a unique opportunity to think and forcing him to stand still, meditate on his life and to prepare for the next. “Yes”, he said, in a barely audible voice, “God is very good to me”.

As I meditate on my father’s legacy, other than the obvious i.e. my face, I think he has left me with the certainty that whatever happens, even the worst hardship is but a token of God’s love. However, as I cannot be sure I will  like him be able to cram in my preparation for the next life in a short time, I am enjoying the luxury of getting ready little by little, day by day. Far from being a morbid thought,  coming to terms each day with what we have done with our lives so far helps us to appreciate the road travelled so far and move forward.

“O SON OF BEING!

Bring thyself to account each day ere thou art summoned to a reckoning;

for death, unheralded, shall come upon thee

and thou shalt be called to give account for thy deeds.”

From The Hidden Words by Baha’u’llah

2 responses »

  1. Beautifully said, full of wisdom.

    Laurent

    Reply
  2. Beautifil indeed but you have still time to think. I admire you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

